Vegan Chubosaurus

what this fat vegan eats

Hanukkah 2009

Y’all, school ate MY WHOLE LIFE. I was barely cooking, and I clearly wasn’t blogging. I thought things would go back to normal after midterms, but as you can tell by my disappearance in the middle of Soup Week, they DID NOT. But I survived the term and I am now on winter break. Which means: a) cooking, b) baking, and c) posting about stuff that’s been sitting around in my pictures folder since September. Yes. The excitement is palpable.

Last Saturday we had a Hanukkah party. I love Hanukkah, and I especially love our Hanukkah parties. We had candles and our menorah, of course:  

This photo isn’t from Saturday; it’s from a couple of nights ago.

We had grape juice and apple cider and two large bottles of Manischewitz wine, one of which was entirely done in, mostly by 3 of my friends. I did mix Manischewitz with Bombay Sapphire gin, to make a drink that the internet calls a Mazel Tov cocktail but that I prefer to call gin & Jews. Because that’s just funny.

I made latkes, modifying the recipe from Colleen Patrick Goudreau’s The Vegan Table. I served them with sour cream and applesauce, of course.

My husband & our friend Brian made Spinach Noodle Kugel from Veganomicon, which was DELICIOUS.

In fact, this meal was so good that it’s what our family had the next night, too. I topped my latkes with french onion dip made with Tofutti’s Sour Supreme and Simply Organic’s French Onion Dip mix – OMNOMNOM.

This was all superb and happy and yum. However! The edible glory of the night was none of these things… because I made doughnuts. Fluffy yeasted heavenly sufganiyot (this recipe, specifically), covered in powdered sugar and served hot. I didn’t fill them with anything, as this was my first time making anything like this and I wanted to be sure everything worked with the simplest methods available before I got all fancy. And? These were incredible. Seriously. Each batch was gone before the next batch had left the pan.  Everyone raved, and I was thrilled and proud. So where are the photos? They seem to have disappeared in the process of uploading them from the camera. I could cry my face off! I can’t find them anywhere! Sadly, the only photographic evidence I have is this photo of my flour- and sugar-dusted shoes and baggy tights:

ALAS!

The teenagers amused themselves by reading one of my vintage dictionaries:  

And Jenny adorned me with a tiny hat:

Wonderful, joyful party. Happy Hanukkah!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

