Vegan Chubosaurus

what this fat vegan eats

she returns! with chickpea soup! – soup week #1

Oh, blogosphere, I missed you! Between week o’midterms two weeks ago, and week o’visiting friend in hospital last week, I have had zero time for cooking, much less blogging about cooking. But this week! Well, despite having an alarming amount of homework due, the completion of which is an impossibility if I intend to sleep before Saturday, as well as a fever, I got myself back into the kitchen tonight. And I am returning to blogging with a theme! The offspring and I have decreed this Soup Week. The weather here is even more Seattle-in-November than Seattle in November usually is, and believe me when I tell you that it’s the perfect week for soup. Lots of soup.

We started, tonight, with Chickpea Soup with Golden Spices, from Mollie Katzen’s Vegetable Heaven.

Recipe!

–  4 15-ounce cans chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
– 1 T extra virgin olive oil
– 2 C minced onion
– 4 T minced garlic
– 2 tsp salt
– 1 large carrot, diced
– pinch of saffron threads
– 2 tsp cumin seed, lightly toasted
– 2 tsp dry mustard
– 1/4 C fresh lemon juice
– black pepper and cayenne, to taste
– 2-3 T tahini, optional
– Optional, for the top: minced cilantro, parsley, or mint; a drizzle of sesame oil; 2 medium ripe tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and diced

Heat the olive oil in a soup pot or Dutch oven. Add the onion (I leave this out entirely, of course, as onions are my sworn enemy), half the garlic, half the salt, and the carrot, saffron, cumin seeds, and mustard. Saute over medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until the carrot begins to soften. Add the chickpeas and 4 cups water. Bring to a boil, lower the heat, and cook, covered, for about 20 minutes. Add the remaining garlic and salt, along with the lemon juice (I didn’t have this tonight, and the soup really is better with it), black pepper, and cayenne to taste. You can also add some sesame tahini at this point, if desired. Puree the soup in a blender or food processor until fairly smooth. (You might want to add a little extra water if it seems too thick.) Taste to adjust seasonings. Serve hot, with a spoonful of diced tomato, a small amount of cilantro/parsley/mint, and possibly a drop or two of sesame oil on top of each serving, if desired.

I chopped up the last orange tomato from our neighbor’s yard (the last remaining reminder of summer in our kitchen), and instead of cilantro, I added a dollop of leftover homemade salsa. Mmmm…my salsa is fabulous. And so is this soup – it’s one of my all-time favorites and I usually make it several times in autumn and winter. Tonight we had it with a very simple salad (red leaf lettuce, cucumber, tomato).

2 Comments

  seenonflickr wrote @

Mmmm, sounds good!

  johanna wrote @

Yummy!

And I’m glad to see you blogging again. Looking forward to soup week!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

