Vegan Chubosaurus

what this fat vegan eats

tomato soup and grilled cheese – veganmofo 13

3930562108_f07c8dec17It’s definitively autumn, with more than a hint of winter, this week in Seattle. The skies are grey and frequently falling; the temperatures are in the 40s; some of the trees are already bare, the ground beneath them graveyards heavy with brown and yellow leaves. On days like this – and I know I’m not alone here – I really want the sort of warm and comforting meal my mom would set before us on cold, wet nights. What does that mean?

SOUP. Specifically, tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches. Though my days of canned tomato soup (just add a can of milk!) and greasy grilled cheddar sandwiches are over, I made a meal that was just as warm and homey as the ones I had when I was a child – and about a thousand times more delicious.

tomato soupI made Lolo‘s Spicy Tomato Chickpea Soup from Vegan Yum Yum. It was scrumptious. True, it bore little resemblance to the canned stuff of my childhood – but that’s a good thing. It was spicy, flavorful, filling, and yummy – in short, perfect.

My sandwich was thinly-sliced Daiya cheddar and a sprinkling of nutritional yeast grilled between two hearty pieces of Ezekiel bread. It melted beautifully, tasted fantastic, and was heavenly dipped in the tomato soup. grilled cheese

Look at that beautiful meltyness!

Sometimes I want a dessert that isn’t a cupcake. CRAZY TALK, I KNOW. I sliced up a local apple and drizzled it with Woodring Northwest‘s Agave Chocolate Sauce, which is divine. apples and chocolate

Erm, I guess that’s slightly more than a drizzle. Heh.

1 Comment»

  laura wrote @

um delicious. also, fat vegans RULE! love your blog!


Leave a Reply

