Vegan Chubosaurus

what this fat vegan eats

tostadas – dinner of quickness – veganmofo 12

3930562108_f07c8dec17My sister called right as I was getting ready to start dinner. She lives in Oregon and we hadn’t spoken for a couple of months. I took the call and tossed my dinner plans out the window. We only talked for an hour, which is quite a short call for the two of us, but I still didn’t have time to make the soup I’d planned on making. I reminded myself that days like this are why I keep prepared foods on hand, checked the freezer and pantry, and had an idea.

tostadas!Tostadas! I crispified some corn tortillas,  sauteed some Morningstar Farms Meal Starters Chik’n Strips (I know they’re owned by Kellogg’s now, and I rarely buy their stuff, but I’d heard that these were made with the super-buzzed-about Gardein, and I wanted to try it), heated up some refried beans, chopped a tomato (from the neighbor’s garden) and some cabbage and half an avocado, and voila! Dinner! thing 1

I seasoned both the beans and the strips with this mixture*. I topped my tostadas with generous dashes of Tapatio. I ate a bunch of last night’s leftover cripsy kale, too.

thing 2They were fast, they were easy, and they were sooooo good. I kept making happy noises as I ate.

The kid and I were at Target today (another thing/place I try to avoid), looking for components for his costume. We struck out, but we did come across Jones Soda’s limited-edition candy corn-flavored soda. Yes, we bought it. I don’t think the kid would have let me leave Target without it. So we had some with our dinner tonight.

a most alarming colorIt was awfully difficult to photograph, since it’s kinda the same color as my table. it was good, though; though the kid doesn’t think it tastes like candy corn, I do (we both agree that it’s tasty). And for this candy corn-loving vegan who’s made sad every October by the lack of vegan candy corn (one of these years I’ll make my own), it was a nice little treat.

*I discovered this mix from Happy Herbivore‘s amazing chickpea tacos, which I’m sure to blog about soon – they’re a favorite at our house, and I make them A LOT.

1 Comment»

  happyherbivore wrote @

glad u like the tacos as much as i do!


Leave a Reply

